Hello from Edinburgh

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

edinburgh_col

Regular
Hi,

Thought I'd join this forum as it seems friendly and full of good advice. I'm a newbie as far as cycling goes but really keen to improve.

Like many folk on here I took up cycling as a way to improve my fitness. Last year, at the age of 44 I decided to lose weight, and since then I've shed over 5 stones. I go to the gym (fairly) regularly but got a bit fed up with this so decided to start cycling as well. I dusted down my Revolution Trailfinder that hadn't seen much action since I bought it about 5 years ago, and could only manage a few miles at first, but soon started believing in myself a wee bit more and gradually built up the miles.

After doing a 40Km round trip a few weeks ago I got an incredible buzz, really enjoyed myself and this spurred me on to do more cycling. I know 40Km is not much to some of you more experienced guys and gals, but it was a huge boost to my own self confidence.

After that I decided to do something I never would dreamed of doing before, that is enter an organised bike ride - Pedal for Scotland in September, the 50 mile route between Glasgow and Edinburgh. What I liked about it is that you're not timed on this ride, and it's about going at your own pace and enjoying it (there's a 100 mile sportive too for the more hardcore cyclist - maybe one day!!), so even if it takes me the whole day, as long as I complete the ride, I'll be extremely chuffed. This has made me realise I needed some sort of training programme (I mean - me? training?? never would've believed it). So, I'm still learning about how much my body can take, when to push it and when to go easy.