Hello from West London

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mrs.Choo

Hi there,

Looking for some friendly faces and good knowledge really.

I have recently signed up to the London to Brighton charity cycle, but have been looking to get into cycling for a little while, its just where to go and how to get started is the problem.

Anyway, apart from being a complete novice and worrying that I may have "biten off more than I can chew", I live in Ealing and am a dedicated gym goer!

Anyway I am looking to start cycling (not just on the gym bike) but hoping there would be good places people could recommend locally or if there are any bike rides I could tag along on.

Thanks

Chantelle

rich p

ridiculous old lush
Very welcome. You'll be fine if you put in some training for the L2B.
Have a look in Cyclechat rides section and you will find some rides local to you with some jolly nice company.
p.s. I don't go on them!

OP
OP
M

Mrs.Choo

rich p said:
Very welcome. You'll be fine if you put in some training for the L2B.
Have a look in Cyclechat rides section and you will find some rides local to you with some jolly nice company.
p.s. I don't go on them!

Thank you for the advice, I will have a little look!

Yes the training has begun for the L2B but I am concerned because I am not sure how to pace myself and what stages I should train at...ie Week 1 - 5 miles etc!

My partner is betting against me (supportive - not) but I am determined to cycle up to two big hills to ....just to prove a point!

rich p

ridiculous old lush
If it's flat and you're already fit, Mrs C, you'll have no problem doing a leisurely 20 miles and then you can see how you react.

yorkshiregoth

Master of all he surveys