Help - Need Advice on a new bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Teej

Really hoping someone can help me out here?

Completely new to road Racer bikes and i have a seriously low budget (£200). I literally just want a bike that will get me to work and back which is about 4 1/2 miles (each way). I'm not looking for something to change my life just a decent bike that will get me to and from and maybe improve it over time. I don't want go down the second and route as I’ve had some really bad experiences. i have found a Viking bike that looks very pretty, but I don't know if just a lemon. Really want a racer because well, I hate mountain bikes!

Viking Giro D’Italia Road Bike (2009) £189 (rrp £224)

 SIZE – 53cm 56cm 59cm
 COLOUR – Platinum Blue and Brilliant White.
 FRAME – Lightweight alloy tubing, road geometry, mudguard clearance, aero down tube, two sets of bottle bosses. Replaceable rear drop out.
 FORKS – 700c Hi tensile trekking with mudguard clearance.
 GEARS – Shimano 14 speed gears with Shimano down tube control levers.
 TRANSMISSION – Prowheel Double, with alloy cranks, Cartridge BB set. Shimano 7 speed freewheel.
 WHEELS – Viking 700c 36 hole black double wall alloy rims with CNC sides, alloy quick release front hub and black spokes.
 TYRES – Kenda 700c x 23 all black road tyres.
 BRAKES – Alloy side pull with alloy levers.
 SADDLE – Viking road saddle with an alloy micro adjust seat post.
 FEATURES – Black cork handlebar tape. Toe clips and straps

http://www.holcroscycles.com/productdetail/23/1821/Viking-Giro-D’Italia-Road-Bike-(2009).html

The guy on the phone is really helpful, but at the end of the day he’s trying to sell me something. Of got some mates that are saying nothing is worth it unless its £500 and above.

Like I said I know its £189 and that’s what I’ll get but just want to know if it’s a waste of money or if I will do but not be amazing.

Would love some advice.

Llama

Veteran
Don't touch it -