Hi-viz risks??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
C

chillyuk

I have to admit a liking for these fly on the wall police documentaries that seem to infest the TV networks lately. Sad I know! However, I have heard coppers say more than once that people tend to drive where they are looking which is why so many motorway accidents occur on the hard shoulder. Rubber neckers looking at the incident and then driving into it despite police cars lit up like christmas trees.

This had had me thinking wether we cyclists can carry the same risks. All this hi viz gear we wear attracts attention to us (usually), which is exactly what it is for. Once a driver has us in his eyeline does he then drive towards us, especially if he is driving on mental autopilot, going by the same theory as motorists on motorway hard shoulders.

I'm not very good at explaining things that I mean but I am sure you will see what I am getting at. Never mind, I will keep taking the tablets!!

Magnatom takes his seat in the front row, places his tub of popcorn in the convenient holder and waits for the show to commence....:tongue:

Arch

Married to Night Train
There's a name for it - something like 'target fixation' I think. It's the reason if you spot a pothole or rock in the road, and look at it, you'll probably end up riding bang over it.

I'd never thought of it in terms of hi-vis cyclists, but you have a point. On the whole though, I'd rather be visible to those who are awake enough to then avoid me, and take my chances with those who are on autopilot, because they are already a hazard, whether I'm hi-vis or not...

I suspect part of the problem on motorways is that tendency for drivers to be lulled into dopeyness by long stretches with no need to brake, steer etc, whereas in an urban environment they have more stimulii like junctions, lights etc to keep them half awake.

Wobbly John

Veteran
chillyuk said: