Hiya from Glasgow

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

WeeE

I'm new to cycling (as an adult, anyway) and still very unfit. (How unfit? Carrying my bike down to the ground floor's still a challenge; have to stop on the landings on the way up.) Never learned to drive, and pretty clueless on the road altogether - I'm probably that bloody hopeless, irritatingly slow, wobbly wummin you gnash your teeth behind.

How bloody hopeless? My first trip out, I forgot about the kickstand, and at the first tiny lean, fell over in the middle of the road. Dusted off, blessing my foresight at picking the dead-time on a Sunday. Sat down in the park gasping for about half an hour. Headed for Lidl, ended up going through the wrong underpass into the Clyde tunnel.

It was so rough my light blinked out, but there was a bloke whizzing down behind me, so I had to keep going, hoping to find a break in the fence, because I'm too short and puny to lift my bike over - and so unfit I'm puffing going DOWNhill. By the time he squeezed past me, I thought I may as well carry on cos this must be nearly halfway. Not really. So - eventually - in the middle of the Clyde tunnel, in the dark, now walking, and here's a guy whizzing down the opposite way. At this point I realise my jacket is black. (I thought I was going for a Sunday afternoon pootle in the park and then the back roads to Lidl.) Started whistling so he'd hear me. He looked shocked and very disapproving, but obviously realised I was a hopeless case, and said nothing. Sorry, you two blokes, whoever you are!

Hello! xx(

I wasn't one of the blokes, although I do cycle through the tunnel every day! have a look at some of my videos, as I have a few videos going through the Clyde Tunnel (see my links in my signature below).

Don't worry about being unfit. Each time you get out on your bike your fitness improves. Before you know it you will be doing your first 100 mile ride! :biggrin: