home brewing

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

asterix

Comrade Member
Well we did try that at uni. We got it all bottled but when we drank it the stuff proved quite incredibly potent. It may have had something to do with one of our fellow lodgers who was doing a chemistry PhD but nothing could be proved.

I brew: Meads, Ginger beer, Dandelion & Burdock root beer, Liquorice root beer, many different wines from Vegetables and hedgerow fruits, and Elderflower champagne, all from captured Naturally occurring yeasts.

I've won a few prizes for my Meads at County and various Smallholder shows.

Bayerd

Über Member
When I was a student in digs, I used to make cider using a kit, but I used wine yeast and upped the sugar content. It was lethal.

Who did ya kill?

I mostly brew beer and cider, but also do the odd wine.

Cider's the easiest, get apple juice, add wine or cider yeast, pectolase if you like it clear, leave to ferment (takes about a week), transfer to sanitised bottles and add a small amount of sugar or honey for fizz (if you want), leave another week then drink.....

I prefer brewing beer, I usually start with a kit, steep grains, boil spray malt with water, add hops, chuck it all in a fermenter.

My stocks are running low at the moment, I'm down to my last 8 gallons or so.

If anyone fancies getting into homebrewing, this is a good site, loads of useful info (sort of like CC but without P&L :whistle:) http://www.jimsbeerkit.co.uk/forum/index.php

XmisterIS

Purveyor of fine nonsense
Who did ya kill?