I can't back-pedal!!! Help.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Funtboy

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the forum and to cycling really and I have a problem. I got myself a second-hand Mountain bike which needed a bit of work. After cleaning every inch of it, I put it back together and now it won't back-pedal. The chain just kind of sticks at the back (I'm not sure what the names of the bits are). Could it just be a matter of lubrication have I knocked something out?

Would really appreciate some help.

Cheers....

domtyler

Über Member
Double check that you have put the chain back through the correct way running through the dérailleur mechanism. Address the indexing too if your bike has it.

dodgy

Your freehub soulds like it's seized. Hold the wheel at the rim and force the cassette (cogs) to spin back by gripping the chain, give it a gentle tap with something that won't damage the teeth in the direction you want it to spin.

If this doesn't help, you'll probably need to replace the freehub.

Dave.

RedBike

The question has to be asked, why do you want to back pedal?

If you stop pedalling does the bike continue to roll freely? (does it freewheel right?)

OP
OP
Funtboy

Funtboy

domtyler said:
Double check that you have put the chain back through the correct way running through the dérailleur mechanism. Address the indexing too if your bike has it.

Is it possible to put it through the wrong way? If it is, I wouldn't rule this out. I'm not sure what indexing is?

OP
OP
Funtboy

Funtboy

dodgy said:
Your freehub soulds like it's seized. Hold the wheel at the rim and force the cassette (cogs) to spin back by gripping the chain, give it a gentle tap with something that won't damage the teeth in the direction you want it to spin.

If this doesn't help, you'll probably need to replace the freehub.

Dave.

Is the freehub the entire set of cogs?

OP
OP
Funtboy

Funtboy

RedBike said:
The question has to be asked, why do you want to back pedal?