I love cycling

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Badger

I've been cycling for just over a year now, and put about 2400 miles in on one of these:

http://gb.cannondale.com/bikes/07/ce/urban/adventure/model-7AR2.html

The only change I have made is slick tyres and a 12-26 cassette. This will remain my commuting rig, since I have fitted a rack and mudguards to it.

I now want to venture into the realm of the road bike, to celebrate the lighter evenings, pleasant weather and losing 3 stone in weight.

I think I'd like a bike suitable for comfort over long distances, not an out and out racer.

So what road bike do you recommend?

Budget = £2000 or less!

BTW I'm a big bloke - weigh 18.5 stone and 6'4'' tall.

Bigtallfatbloke

I will recommend the only bike I feel qualified to comment on...the one I ride.

It's a Daws Galaxy 2007 tourer. I am 6'4" tall and when i started riding this thing I weighed 21 stone. I now weigh in at around 16 stone after last years rides on this bike.

It is solid, comfy (see mods below) and although not as fast as a real road race bike is still capable of 36mph (well thats my top speed on it so far). It carries a four pannier camping load plus a tent and a bar bag with ease...plus my bulk.

I bought this new for £650 and the bike came with a selle italia gel saddle and alloy pedals with toe straps. The saddle had to go asap as it was crippling me....i replaced it with a brooks B 17 champion. the pedals were to narrow for my feet and I got numb feet as a result, so i replaced them with shimano double sided spds. The only other modification I have made is the addition of front blackburn low rider racks....oh yes...I just replaced the tyres as well simply because I wanted narrower tyres.

It's a great tourer, designed for comfort and heavy loads, looks cool imho and I can still catch and pass the odd roadie on a good day!

Tynan

Veteran
£2k is a huge budget

audax type bikes for roadie comfort