I'm a better driver

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Moodyman

Legendary Member
I think I've become a better driver since I started cycle commuting last summer.

Not that I was a bad driver in the first place. I've always been cautious and have had no accidents in over 16 years of motoring.

But, like most drivers, I often drive in auto-pilot. Because road cycling demands more alertness, planning, anticipation, I've found these carry through to my driving.

Anybody else experience this?

I won't bite.

I became a better cyclist after I got my driving licence. I understood how far ahead a driver needs to think, how much info a driver should be processing, how much they filter out, and how high-speed everything is.

I think so, but then it is hard to judge your own performance (oo-er!).

I think along with the other 99.99999% of drivers, I think I am abive average....:becool::smile:

It probably isn't 99.9% though.I have spoken to people who don't actually think they are good drivers.Myself i just hope im good enough to commute by bike for another 19 years.There does seem to be a load of know
It alls on here.You can't all be brilliant.

Also thinking you are good breeds complacancy.(spell it right for me someone)
The example being my job,being complacant breeds mistakes.whether there is a likeness between my job and car driving.I think so.

Norm

I cannot rate myself against anyone else but I am more aware of the issues facing cyclists which, I hope, helps me to interact with them.

This applies, of course, whether I am in a car, truck, tractor, motorbike or even cycling.

Lozatron

I've noticed a shocking tendency to try to maintain my speed up hills and to whizz between two slower moving vehicles, especially at roundabouts.

Need to watch myself!

Vikeonabike

CC Neighbourhood Police Constable