JOGLE route and planning

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

alec saunders

Hi, im planning to do the JOGLE/LEJOG cycle over the summer. I've never done anything like this before so help would be appreciated! Does anyone have a detailed day by day map for a trip lasting around 14-15 days. I already have a decent bike so how much do you think the trip would cost including accomodation (hopefully youth hostels) trasport kit food etc...

Thank you :smile:

dand_uk

Hi Alec,

I did the JOGLE last year in August, it was AMAZING. We did it 10 days with a day train travel at either end. Our route was:

Wick>JOG>Tongue>Inverness>Oban>Glasgow>Carlisle>Preston>Bridgnorth>Bristol>Okehampton>LE>Penzance.

We stayed in hostels for most nights. Total cost to each of us was £1000 for the whole trip (travel, food, accomodation). Possible to do it cheaper by doing more hostels. try hostelbookers website. Oh and the cost excludes bike supplies as I can still use those - 3 of us rode it and we got a total of ZERO punctures/crashes (unless you count clipless incidents! hehe!)

Depending where you're coming from you can get decent train prices in advance. I got a ticket from Brum to Wick for 40 with bike reserved (use east coast trains website). Journey from Inverness to Wick is very slow tho so take a book!

In regards to daily mileage we were riding pretty much from 9ish until dark most days, doing an average of between 11 and 14mph. We were carrying an extra 15kg each as we were unsupported so you can probably get a better speed. Also our route was not the most direct, but I am happy with the route we choose, some amazing sights, in particular between Oban and Glasgow, and the Lake District - Kirkstone Pass.

GOOD LUCK!

OP
OP
A

alec saunders

Thanks, that info is great :smile: How long is the train journey to wick and does it envolve alot of changes?

Thanks again

snorri

Legendary Member