John O' Groats to Lands End - Easter 2010

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CurlyWurly

Hi All from a Suffolk Newbie...

I've just registered - this is my first time on cycle chat and am looking for a quick steer in the right direction.

Any suggestions for which forums I should head to or specific people anyone might recommend I speak with for advice on planning an adventure would be greatly appreciated.

I completed the national 3 peaks challenge July 08 (climbed Ben Nevis, Scafell Pike and Mt Snowdon in 24 hours) and am now planning my next somewhat ridiculous challenge - Cycling John o' Groats to Lands End - Easter 2010.

The adventure might seem a long way off but I haven't cycled for about 9 years (used to do a 15 mile daily commute to work for 2 years) so my friend and I intend building up to it over a 15 month period, buying the kit we need and developing fitness, stamina and experience as we go.

Any thoughts / advice welcomed

Kind regards,

CurlyWurly

vernon

Harder than Ronnie Pickering
It's not a particularly ridiculous challenge. Last year it was ridden by a 27 stone rider and I've ridden it both ways weighing around 24 and 23 stones respectively. It only becomes a ridiculous challenge when you try to do it in a ridiculous time like 44 hours.

A visit over to the LEJOG foum on the CTC web site contains lots of useful advice.

Lots of LEJOG links here: http://www.users.waitrose.com/~ianclare/links.htm

BigonaBianchi

Yes I can, Yes I am, Yes I did...Repeat.
I'm still in two minds about doing this ride soon...if I do I reckon on 14 days tops camping. Problem is that LE and JOG are both in the wrong places to get to for me...it's easier to get to France

snorri

Legendary Member
CurlyWurly said:
I completed the national 3 peaks challenge July 08 .... and am now planning - Cycling John o' Groats to Lands End - Easter 2010.