Leg position?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mozzy

As you probably know, I'm new to cycling and still finding out what precisely is what. I'm concerned my seat is too low right now. I ride Cannondale Hybrid, and when I pedal my legs are bent as opposed to straight. Some recommendations say your legs should be straight some bent. It feels fairly comfy but I thought I would ask for some definitive guidance before I settle into the incorrect riding style.

Thanks

Mozzy

upsidedown

Waiting for the great leap forward
Don't know about definitive, but if you lean against a wall, foot on pedal at the bottom of the pedal stroke, knee should be just un-locked. Any sign of hips rocking and it's too high.

Rob500

When I first got my bike and was getting my seat height fixed the mate got me to put my heels on the pedals. The seat height was adjusted until my legs were dead straight. This did the job and my legs are not locked when feet are in the normal pedal position.

HovR

Über Member
What upsidedown and rob said! With your foot on the pedal at its lowest point, your leg should be stretched out enough so that your knee is just not locked.

If you've been riding with the saddle too low, you will notice a huge difference once you have it right.
thumbsup.png

Fast_Mark

A good guide for saddle height: set it so your leg is locked out when your heel is on the pedal. Not definitive, but it should get you pretty close.

Peteaud

Veteran
When I first got my bike and was getting my seat height fixed the mate got me to put my heels on the pedals. The seat height was adjusted until my legs were dead straight. This did the job and my legs are not locked when feet are in the normal pedal position.

A good guide for saddle height: set it so your leg is locked out when your heel is on the pedal. Not definitive, but it should get you pretty close.