Lon Las Cymru

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

WelshYiddo

Firstly hello.

I'm fairly new to cycling having got my bike out of the shed this summer after it had gathered dust for 5 years.
My grand plan is to cycle the Lon Las Cymru route (probably starting in Caernarfon rather than Holyhead) for charidee next Easter with my 16 yr old son.
Now I was doing OKish on my training at the start of the summer - 25-30 miles on a saturday and 15 miles on a tuesday and thursday. Then I (quite embarrasingly) tripped on the framework for some decking I was doing and smashed my leg. Black from top of thigh to bottom of calf and no cycling until last week (also knackered my shoulder in the meantime - I really am a clumsy knob!). So I am now very gradually building things up, doing an hour at a time and really bloody feeling every turn of the wheel!

I'm determined to do the ride though for a number of reasons; spend a bit of quality never to be forgotten time with my boy, the chairty is Asthma UK which is very close to my heart and just cos I really want to while I still can.

I know its not an epic journey but for me and my crap legs/lungs it will be far enough.

So my questions are:
Any training tips?
Anyone else done it and want to share their wisdom/experience?
Is it advisable on my 6 yr old hardtail MTB? Would a hybrid be easier?
What were the names of the two old men in the balcony on The Muppet Show?
Should I give up and settle for a life of Sky Sports & Strongbow?

Sorry this is a bit longwinded for a first post but at least you know a bit about me now!

Ta.

Danny

Legendary Member
Welcome.

Don't know the Lon Las Cymru route, but my experience of cycling in Wales is that it is all hilly!

However you should have no problems if you can get back to cycling 30 miles each weekend. Just build it up slowly - you've got plenty of time before Easter.