London to Paris via Newhaven/Dieppe

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

matason

Hello,

Thanks for the great site and all the helpful information!

At the end of the month I'm cycling from London to Paris via Newhaven - Dieppe and I'm looking for:

a) route suggestions and any roads to avoid at all costs!
:blush: general advice about cycling in France, specific cycling highway code, it's my first time

Thanks,

Chris

andym

Über Member
In general the D-roads are quieter than the N-roads.

OP
OP
matason

matason

Thanks

Thanks very much, really appreciate the advice and route offer, will PM you now.

dellzeqq

pre-talced and mighty
getting to Newhaven - what day and what time are you going? The traffic on some of the minor roads is a bit intense during the daytime - except on a Sunday. I'll write you a route appropriate to the time. There will be teddy bears, though.

Oh - the first bridge you cross from the ferry terminal in to the centre of Dieppe is metal mesh decked. I'd walk it, and if it is in the least bit damp I'd say not walking it would be daft.

OP
OP
matason

matason

dellzeqq said:
getting to Newhaven - what day and what time are you going? The traffic on some of the minor roads is a bit intense during the daytime - except on a Sunday. I'll write you a route appropriate to the time. There will be teddy bears, though.

Thank you very much! I plan to set off on Friday 28th August at 8am (but I'm open to suggestions if you think that is a bad time), my ferry is from Newhaven at 10.30pm

Teddy bears?

dellzeqq said:
Oh - the first bridge you cross from the ferry terminal in to the centre of Dieppe is metal mesh decked. I'd walk it, and if it is in the least bit damp I'd say not walking it would be daft.

Thanks, I will walk it whether wet or not, I'm extremely grateful for any advice, it's just two weeks away now and I must confess I've been having the odd moment of anxiety!

Thanks again for your help :biggrin:

arallsopp