Looking for a little guidance for buying triathlon bike...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

slicendice

Hi!
Bit of a newbie here and I'm after some advice on what bike to buy (yep...another "what shall i buy" thread!)

Last year I did my first triathlon and I'm doing another one this year. I don't actually own a road bike, so I borrowed an old heap from a friend for last year's event. I would be able to borrow it again for this year's event, but it's an ancient old bone shaker that weighs a ton and feels like it's going to come apart at any second!

So I'd like to invest in a bike for myself! Now I'm no professional (cyclist or triathlete!) so I really don't need the bees knees, top of the range, mega lightweight carbon fibre uber slinky hot wheels type bike! Well....it would be nice, but the cost is prohibitive - so I'm having to aim my sights somewhat lower.

I'm not going to be cycling every hour of the day or entering the Tour De France or anything like that, but I will be doing triathlons in the future and doing some reasonably regular training. Like I say, I don't need top of the range, but at the same time I don't want to get the cheapest of the cheap and end up with some gear crunching lump of metal.

In terms of budget, I was hoping to get away with around £400, but having seen the price of road bikes I realise I may have to up this to nearer £500. Does anyone have any recommendations as to what might be a good starter bike that won't break the bank but is of reasonable quality? I'd be happy to buy second hand, but as I'm not too well up on what would be a good buy and what wouldn't, I'm a bit cautious about going down this road.

Thanks very much...

Will1985

Über Member
First rule of advice, ignore any post which bonj puts up containing a full carbon speed machine like a Quintana Roo! :angry: Having said that, your username would be suited to a Cannondale Slice!