Looking for an ebike for £2500

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sanadsaad

Hi all! I am looking to buy an ebike mainly for commuting but also, once I’m a bit more comfortable with it, riding trails in Sheffield. The budget I have is £2500. I looked at a few bikes from cube but without being able to test ride any, I thought I’d ask for your advice and any recommendations.

PaulSB

Legendary Member
I have no experience of riding an ebike but know people who ride models from Orbea and Ribble. Both seem very happy with performance. At a casual glance the Ribble looks to be a copy of the Orbea.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
There are broadly two types of legal ebikes in this price range.

Lighter, less powerful bikes such as the Orbea/Ribble with the Ebikemotion hub motor, and heavier more powerful bikes, usually with the Bosch crank drive motor which most of the Cubes you've seen use.

Another light assist system is the Fazua crank drive, which is fitted to Boardmans and others.

Yet another possibility is the Halford's Carrera hub drive bike, which is similar in power to a Bosch bike, but much cheaper at around £1,000.

Sheffield is known to be hilly, which would point towards a Bosch/Carrera bike.

However, much will depend on your weight, how much grunt you can contribute, and how far you want to go.

CXRAndy

Guru
If you live up one of the big hills in Sheffield, like Loxley then get the most powerful system.

You could go with a pre manufactured bike with a Bosch/Brose/Yamaha crank drive or look at aftermarket kits like Bafang BBSHD or TSDZ2. You can specify which battery, voltage and capacity.

If you own a standard threaded bottom bracket bike upgrade will be around £750-1000

You need to be practical or know anyone with those skills- its not difficult

OP
OP
S

sanadsaad