Loose Spoke?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

IanT

http://www.sprocketwaffle.co.uk
Firstly, let me say that as far as bicycle maintenance goes - I'm a bit of a rookie. It's odd, because I have restored several cars and will happy twiddle the spanners on any of my tin boxes. But, when it comes to understanding the intricacies of anything associated with my bikes - I just seem to do the Homer Simpson blink........if you know what I mean. Notwithstanding this, I'm resolved to getting stuck in and teaching myself how to look after my trusty steeds.

Just recently, my lovely Carerra Vulcan MTB has been getting a bit of a pounding - in a move from mainly on-road to mainly off-road miles (odd, I know). However, over the last couple of rides, I have noticed an incredibly annoying buzz coming from the front wheel.

After a thorough inspection of the offending wheel, I think I have discovered a loose spoke. When I say loose, I mean looser than the others - not falling out. When I run a finger around the spokes, I do get a nice metallic 'ting' from all of them, but when I squeeze pairs of spokes, I notice that this particular one (and, perhaps one other) just move slightly over their neighbour, with a slight creak (sorry for the less than descriptive write up on the sounds).

The bike is clamped in the stand and the Halfords spoke key poised - but - before I do any damage, can someone tell me.......does this actually sound like the symptoms of a spoke that is coming loose? Equally, do they sometimes loosen up (presumably accelerated by the regular high speed pounding over tree roots etc)?

The wheel actually looks very true - so I certainly would not want to go making things worse with a well-intentioned, but misguided tweak of a nipple!! Ooooer, missus!!!!

I have looked at the various YouTube videos on the subject - but they all seem to deal with a wheel shaped like a banana - rather than one with a slightly loose spoke.