lost my Mojo

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BearPear

Veteran
Can anyone help me to get back in the mood to cycle?

I am new to old-lady cycling (I'm nearly 43!) and have gone from rushing home from work to get in a ride before tea, to getting out the ironing rather than my beloved Trek. I know that I'll enjoy it once I get out, but I can't seem to motivate myself.

I don't think it helps that any direction from home has a hill and I am a lazy person at heart! I could take the bike to the towpath but that entails swapping cars with hubby (he has said that he would gladly do this to encourage my cycling, him being a keen rider).

it's just a case of making the effort but I feel so "meh" to quote my 17 year old son!

Chamfus Flange

I had a great ride this afternoon. Really did not want to go at all, but forced myself. I'm glad I did; warm(ish), traffic quiet (accident on A3), blow the cobwebs out as I've not been out for a while.

Go on give it a go!

colinr

I find the bathroom scales are a great incentiviser (not sure that's a word) for me. And there's this really nice spot about halfway through one of my regular routes. Maybe you can find an end, to which cycling is the means, to start the ball rolling?

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
As another West Yorkshire resident surrounded by hills, I know what you mean! I do have valley roads to ride on if I want to avoid the hills. but they are too busy a lot of the time.

The best thing I did was to find a local riding partner. He used to come round and encourage me to go out when I wasn't really feeling that keen. Unfortunately, he emigrated a few years ago and then I was back to square one.

After that, I decided that I'd get to know a few people off various cycling forums and ride with them. It's why I organise this kind of thing. That keeps me in riding partners for my longer/harder rides, but I still miss the company sometimes when I just want to nip out for a couple of hours.