More HDTV advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
You usually have to tell the source, in this case your V+ box, to output through HDMI and your TV should detect it via one of its HDMI inputs. You should be able to watch all your non-HD channels via HDMI now as well. But, I'm not a Virgin expert, if you'll excuse the pun Mr. P. But it should work. HDMI is a two way connection, both units will talk to one another.

Oh and another tip. Have you got any of the new Star Wars series on DVD? If you have there's an excellent screen set up procedure on them. You'll be surprised how far out all the settings are once you've used it.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
Sorry User, I'm about 90% sure you haven't got it working in hdmi. HMDI disables scart etc in most circumstances if it is working on the V+. What channel source you got the LG set up on, is it on one of the two HDMI channels? Something like pressing "input" on the lg tv remote (near the top on the left?) and then scroll left and right to various options - labelled AV1,2,3, Composite, HDMI1, HDMI2? You'll need to try selecting HDMI1 or 2. On LGs you can usually rename them so you could call it Virgin or something after you've worked out which. It's an urban myth on virgin that you can't watch BBC HD through scart, you can just not properly.

The V+ engineer did this when I got it installed, plugged in HDMI and SCART and claimed it was set up for HDMI. I had the tell tale giveaway that he'd left the thing in 4:3 though!!! It's not really embarrassing the V+ guy didn't manage to do it or couldn't be arsed here.