New Road Bike Or convert Hybrid?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

englandmademe

Hi Newbie here!

I have a 2006 Specialized Sirrus and I'm tiring of the very upright position with the straight handlebars etc.

I would like to convert to drop handlebars and thereby have more of a road style bike.

My question is not how to do this, but is it worth it?

I estimate even secondhand, STIs, bars, tape etc will be approx £150 and new would be nearer to £250

Would I be better off either buying a very entry level road bike (ie Halfords type - not very well known brand etc) at around £250 - 300 or hope to get lucky on ebay and get a used 'branded' roadbike for around £200.

I guess at least if I bought another bike I would have two bikes - the specialized could then be geared up for tow paths, slightly rougher terrain while the second bike could be an out and out road bike.

However with not very much budget there may be no point buying a cheap road bike if it is junk?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

Thanks

ACS

Legendary Member
:eek::bicycle:

I looked at doing this but ended up adding some Specialized Dirt Rodz Bar Ends for additional hand positions and got a new bike.

I use my Sirrus for commuting (2x10miles - mostly rural roads with a little bit of town) and while I love getting out in my 'best bike' the addition of bar ends has proved to be a revelation, stretched out riding position, greater comfort and something to spear Ped’s on. :biggrin:

Added some bar tape for comfort and better grip. Cost £20 may be worth a punt before making a final decision?

OP
OP
E

englandmademe

satans budgie said:
:eek::bicycle:

I looked at doing this but ended up adding some Specialized Dirt Rodz Bar Ends for additional hand positions and got a new bike.

Thanks for the reply and welcome...

This sounds like good advice :biggrin: - I might pop down to Evans Cycles today and pick up some!