Newbie advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rjkc600

Hi guys,

Ive recently started riding my front suspension MTB for fast road use, im a beginner and havent cycled for 12 years or so, but a pending london - southend ride means im now in full training.

Ive fitted city jet tyres, to make it easier, and its made a good improvement over the old nobbly tyres and ive acheived 33mph on them, with an average of 16 - 20mph.

My bike rides are getting longer, and im finding that my current bike is a little tough going up hills, i seem to be wasting a lot of energy doing so.

Now for some Questions:

1. Will a racer make life a lot easier? or are the gains small? Ive never ridden one.

2. My MTB has 24 gears. Ive seen racers with 10 gears, and some with 24. Can someone advise on the best choice for fast road use, and easy acceleration?

I think thats it for now.

Thanks in advance!

Roger. ;)

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
Road bike, for.... roads! ;)
Does your MTB have suspension forks? If so is there a switch to lockout the suspension and make them rigid?

This will help with riding it on the road. You will get to Saarfend no problem on it but faster and easier on a road bike.

Cheers,
SD

OP
OP
R

rjkc600

hi SD,

My forks are adjustable, and i have them on the firmest setting, but i cant lock them rigid.

Are 'racers' unbearable over pot-holed roads etc? I also heard that the spokes need tuning very frequently?

Thanks again

;)

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
Sounds like my flatmate's bike (Specialized Hardrock) un-lockout-able... and he also rides about with them on the firmest setting. He commutes a 16 mile round trip daily on this setup (all road) and seems to like it.

You will need to pay more attention to potholes etc. on a road bike but it's not like they are made of tinfoil. Any bike will thank you for avoiding avoidable holes I think ;)