Olymps DSLR - anyone?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Proto

Legendary Member
Thinking of changing my camera and like the idea of an Olympus (had OM1s years ago, still have brand loyalty!). Their desire to go their own way appeals to me, sort of quircky but in a good way (a bit like SAAB in the motoring world, and yes I drive a 9-5 estate).

Currently have a Nikon D70S, but a disaster** with a zoom lens means I'm less committed to Nikon now. So, buy a new camera and pass my D70 to a very grateful daughter.

The reviews of the E-620 look good, anyone got any experience of them? Or the E-510/E-520? Or am I being daft and should stick with the Canon/Nikon mainstream.

I'm an enthusiastic amateur, no more than that. What says the Cyclechat massive?

** Don't carry your camera gear unprotected in a tank bag on a Buell XB12S Lightning motorcycle and not expect it to get shaken to pieces. Literally.

Norm

Saab 9-5 and an XB... yes, I think an Olympus is just what you need. :biggrin:

(Merc, Buell X1 and Nikon over here :thumbsup: )

My uncle has an E510, I think. Useful camera, nicely sized. When I am cogitating new hardware, I take a couple of memory cards down to my local store (Jessops is about all that's left now) and run some pix through a couple of different options onto them - last year, for instance, I tried it with 4 compacts and a compact I already had. I can then bring the cards home and check out the details in comfort without a nagging salesman in my ear.

I'm an OM1 man as well and still enjoy taking photos on it. I went for the E400 series when it came out and love it - it is very reminiscent of the OM cameras in being small, light and well balanced unlike many of the big ugly brutes that go for digital SLRs these days. The E500 is a bit bigger but if you liked OM I think you'll like it too. It also takes great photos and coupled with the Olympus 14-150 lens makes a good single lens all purpose camera.

Bobtoo

Über Member