Options for a Sub £650 Hybrid Bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

QUIK

Regular
Hi All,

Newbie here looking at his first Hybrid bike.

With my £650 budget, 80% which will covered by my employer I have shortlisted the following Specialized and Boardman 2021 bikes.

Either the Specialized Sirrus 2.0 or Sirrus X 2.0 (Do really like the look of the X model with fatter 42mm tyres)

Or the Boardman HYB 8.6 and Boardman URB 8.6.

Usage will be mostly weekends or spring/summer evenings with mixture of roads and country lanes.
I'm not sure if I really need all the extra gearing of the Sirrus 2.0 and Boardman HYB and the Boardmans do seem to use better components in the entry level bikes than Specialized.

Could I not get best of both worlds by adding 42mm tyres to the Boardman URB, would they even fit.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello and :welcome:to the forum.

I think the URB would be an excellent choice (if you can find one in stock). You’re right you’ll probably get better VfM from Halfords own brand than one of the big names.
42mm tyres will likely fit but won’t give you much of a advantage over the stock. Might be worth doing though as OE tyres have poor puncture resistance at this price point.

sleuthey

Legendary Member
80% which will covered by my employer ...... Usage will be mostly weekends or spring/summer evenings
I’m glad I don’t work for the same employer!

In my experience Boardman are good but offer less value than other brands. The Sirrus is available in nice range of colours.

OP
OP
Q

QUIK

Regular
So these are two I have shortlisted and their specs:

https://www.boardmanbikes.com/gb_en/products/2345-urb-8.6-2021.html

https://www.specialized.com/gb/en/sirrus-x-2-0/p/171181?color=274044-171181&searchText=92420-8000

Which do you feel is better spec'd for my intended use which will as said a mixture of road and countryside trails.