Pedal Powered Segway

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PedSegMan

I'm a final year engineering student and I'm Looking for feedback on weather you would use a pedal powered Segway and what additional features you would like to see on it, below is a detailed description of how it works as well as a pictures of the final design

Hand power pedal Segway, fitted with a Bosch performance line pedal assisted motor pedals at a height of 1.2m from the platform on which the user stands. The user operates this standing up, has textured rubber to provide extra grip when the user is standing on it, the same rubber grips are fitted to the brake pedals.

The 2 wheels are on separate axels, to turn apply the brake on the feet on the desired side of the direction you want to turn this slows the wheel down causing a turning motion. To completely stop the Segway both pedals will have to be pressed at the same to, motion can also be stopped if the user stops pedaling. It has 2 counterbalances fitted at the back of the base to counter act the force being exerted by the user on the Segway keeping it up right.

All Feedback Welcome

Thanks

segwaypi_Camera_SOLIDWORKS Viewport.jpg

Segway_Camera_Default Camera.jpg

segwaypi_Camera_Default Camera.jpg

Segway_Camera_SOLIDWORKS Viewport.jpg

classic33

Leg End Member
Coordination required to use in safety may well be beyond most folk.
Are the brakes operated by the users toes?

It wouldn't be legal to use on a UK public highway either.

Where on earth could you use thing legally and safely? Solve that problem first.
Then you can refine your product; first thing I suggest is to make the hand-crank thing's height adjustable - one-size never fits-all so you either provide proper adjustment, make it in different sizes - or resign yourselves to selling only to people with a certain very specific height range.