Pre-emptive bike service tomorrow

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mydodgyfeet

After buying my bike from Halfords in August (and then shamefully only going out on it last weekend for the second time:shy: ) I'm outside of their complementary check-up thingy. Ahead of a trip up North this weekend to avoid the OH's pals coming over, I'm taking it for a service and look-over at my LBS tomorrow. I realise it's a new bike and gears and things need some time to settle (? -the man in the bike shop told me this), what should I be mindful of so I don't get fleeced?

I'm still very new to all this and despite researching a lot in the last few weeks, I can't afford to be ripped off. The shop I'm taking it to are very reputable and recommended but I don't want the sharp intake of breath followed by "that's going to cost you" and me having no clue how to challenge the chap. I want to make sure the bike is set up right (the gears seem sticky and the brakes squeaky) before I try and do 40 miles in a day. To date I have done around 20 miles on it so it shouldn't be in bad nick.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
If the gears are sticky it could mean new cables - shouldn't be, but if it's been sat in a damp shed without being used ?

They may adjust the headset if there is play. TBH there should be very little other than ensuring the gears index properly. Squeeky brakes - well you've not used it much and toe angle may be needed to be adjusted for rim brakes.

yello

I very much doubt anything will need changing given the bike's mileage. So you're probably just looking at a standard service charge. Did the LBS tell you in advance how much that'd be? Or is there a sign somewhere saying how much?