Punctures / Flat Tyre

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Decani

Can anyone help please?

I am fairly new to cycling and I am having a problem with my front wheel.

Last Friday, I had both the chunky mountain bike tyres (and inner tubes) replaced with slicks for road use. The new tyres were changed by a LBS and they are Schwalbe Marathons.

Yesterday the front tyre punctured and I decided to replace the inner tube. I found a small piece of glass in the tyre, removed it and checked the tyre for other debris. I was unable to see or feel any other sharp objects protruding through the tyre, so I fitted the new inner tube inside the tyre. Five minutes later the new tube was flat. I re-inflated the tyre and it went down again. I am not sure what the problem is.

Can anyone help please?

Thanks.

:biggrin:

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
Hi

I would take it back to the LBS and ask why they replaced tyres and left glass inside the tyre...
Unless I'm getting the wrong end of the stick here, it seems they are at fault. If the glass got through from outside after they were fitted I would say that's very unlucky (as these tyres have a great Rep for not p*ncturing).

Cheers,
SD

Sittingduck said:
Hi

I would take it back to the LBS and ask why they replaced tyres and left glass inside the tyre...
Unless I'm getting the wrong end of the stick here, it seems they are at fault. If the glass got through from outside after they were fitted I would say that's very unlucky (as these tyres have a great Rep for not p*ncturing).

Cheers,
SD

I can't see the lbs being at fault if they changed both the tyres and tubes last friday and it punctured yesterday...

But if there is definitely no glass, check your rim tape. Also, are you running them at the correct pressure? The marathons can be pumped up a lot higher than most knobblies.

OP
OP
D

Decani

When the lbs replaced the tyres, they pumped them up to 50 PSI after replacing the inner tube, I did the same.