Removing Stuck Cranks - Advice Please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

2wheelsgeth

Rebuilt, but not yet better than ever
Hi All,

Could really do with some advice about how to remove stuck cranks on my tired old early 90s Diamond Back Topanga MTB. I need to replace the bearings in the BB (which I think is a three piece loose bearing type - Shimano Exage 300LX if that helps), but the cranks are stuck firmly to the square taper. If anyone has any useful tips to remove these without causing any damage, I'd be very grateful.

As the more experienced of you will have no doubt noticed, I'm a bit of a novice to this, having taken cycling back up in the last few months, so I might struggle with the correct terminology - apologies!

Ta...

tyred

Legendary Member
I assume you have tried with the correct removal tool?

If it won't work or the threads are knackered, unscrew the bolts which hold them on the taper but leave them loose with just a few threads still holding and go for a ride.

Without wishing to state the obvious, use a CRANK PULLER

It's the only safe way to ensure you don't damage anything, (as long as you don't cross thread it screwing it in)

There is an old school method of loosening the crank bolts and riding around the block until the arms loosen, but I've never tried it, (I have a crank puller), and I wouldn't personally advise it. If you don't want to invest in the right tool nip to your LBS, they should be prepared to crack your cranks, (not literally) for a nominal fee.

park%20ccp2.jpg

[EDIT] slight cross with above post :whistle:

Thanks very much for this - will give it a go and see what happens!
That sounds like your giving the loosen the bolts and go for a ride method a go.

If so, be very careful, keep checking the crank arms, if they loosen and you keep peddling you could damage the square tapered hole which could result in them constantly working loose when you've rebuilt it.