Ride suggestion from Preston?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Good evening!
I’m fairly new to road cycling and was wondering if anybody knew of a pretty intermediate ride starting from the Preston area?
Maybe some nice country lanes included, I’m not familiar with the country side as I’ve always worked in the city.
30-40 miles tops ideally

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Hi Mark!

I've heard good things about the Preston Guild Wheel though I am not familiar with it. Maybe use that to 'escape' from Preston?

If you then head NW to the Fylde the terrain is flat and easy (unless it is as windy as it has been of late!), but not terribly interesting.

If you head N/NE instead it is much more undulating and pleasant. There are big hills in the distance but you can avoid them until you feel ready to tackle them.

Try this one: ... Woodplumpton (N of Preston), Barton, Inglewhite, Whitechapel and then climbing up to Beacon Fell. There is a singletrack one-way lane going clockwise round the Fell. Do a circuit and call in at the visitor centre cafe if you fancy that. Either return by your outward route or go via Brockmill (STEEP descent to a river and STEEP climb back up!), Claughton, Matshead, Bilsborrow, Woodplumpton ...