Rides for 2009?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mickwood

Hey guys,

Seeing as I'm a newbie and in my Psyche the 100 mile ride is, well...impossible to me at the minute! But, I'd like to choose a ride as a target to aim for.

So...

Anyone got any sugestions for 100 mile rides, in good scenery, and without an emphasis on a particular speed/time (after all, merely finishing is what I'm trying to acheive - time is irrelevant). Links would be useful!

Thanks in advance.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
If you go from Clay Cross, Sheffield, Snake, Glossop, Winnats, Hope Valley, Bakewell, Matlock, small loop around and back that's pretty much 100 miles. It's a hilly one though, 7000ft+ of climbing. I'm thinking of doing lincolnshire instead!

vernon

Harder than Ronnie Pickering
marinyork said:
If you go from Clay Cross, Sheffield, Snake, Glossop, Winnats, Hope Valley, Bakewell, Matlock, small loop around and back that's pretty much 100 miles. It's a hilly one though, 7000ft+ of climbing. I'm thinking of doing lincolnshire instead!

Too many lumps for a first century. The Lincolnshire and East Yorkshire Wolds would be a good introduction to the century club.

OP
OP
M

mickwood

Snake....Winnats....hmmmm.....hilly!

I was actually thinking of an 'official' ride, such as Northern Rock Cyclone Challenge? Something 'organised' merely from the fact I'm less likely to dip out if its somethings I've 'entered'...if that makes sense?

tc01947

Hi

I signed up to do the northern rock this will be my first 100 mile ride aswell. Im 6.3 100kg( Hopefully lighter by June ) not your typical cyclest. I can do 20-30 no probs at the moment. Going to bulid upto 70-80 before hand.

A friend of mine did it last year as well as a few other ones one in lake district , ryedale rumble he said the cyclone was the easiest of the ones he did.

Not to steal the thread but any tips on completing a 100 mile ride??

Randochap

Senior hunter
tc01947 said: