Riding with another person

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

StephenG

Hi Guys,

I have only just started cycling (2 months) and love it to bits.

I have managed to get my brother into cycling as well and we have gone out on rides over the last two weekends.

Even though I am a beginner I cycle a lot faster than him speed wise.

What I have tried is to cycle fast and loop back to meet him and repeat this process during our time out but this is not a very social option. I have also tried to ride at the same speed as him but using a higher cadence but find this option hard as i am going really fast on the pedals but it is not good for my rythmn. Using this option i am going at about 110rpm which feels really weird, I usually go at around 85 to 95rpm.

So in short, how do you guys ride with slower riders?

PaulSB

Legendary Member
I know aboutthis problem, though I don't really know the solution. I spend most of my time cycling alone because the people I know who ride are either much slower or much faster than me. It is a problem. My wife and I occassionally go out on the tandem which means we have to stick together!!!

Reading your other thread it may be you just have to give your brother time to get up to your own level. I have to say I'd be a fed up if someone kept looping back for me. Have you thought about meeting up at specific places on your rides?

I eventually solved the problem by joining a club. Two things happened, first I found a few other members close to my ability (which was below the cub average) and secondly I found riding with a group quickly pulled me up a level so I was able to increase my average speed over greater distances. It only took about a month to find I could stick with the main group for a 70-80 mile run at around 16 / 17 mph. Sadly I've had two accidents in the last two years which mean I'm a long way off the club level at present but I'm working towards getting back to it.