Roundabout Advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mgarl10024

Über Member
Hi,

The other night when coming home from work, I had a minor incident on a quiet roundabout and wanted some advice. I'm still new to commuting, and keep off the roads as much as possible, so all advice welcome.
There were no collisions or near misses (it would make a boring video), but it just got me thinking whether I/them were right/wrong.

I've attached an image of the roundabout. It's pretty quiet, even at rushhour.
The green line is me. I was approaching the roundabout, and was keeping to the left as I'm not the quickest of cyclists. By the time I reached the roundabout, I'm still on the left, perhaps 3ft from the curb, and I want to go straight on (shown by the dotted green line).
Next to me is a 4x4, shown in red.
We're both waiting for a car going from left-right over the roundabout.

We then both pull away. I want to go straight on. The 4x4 (unbeknown to me) wants to go left, and cuts right over my path forcing me to brake.

I guess I could occupy a primary position at the end of the roundabout - make the 4x4 wait for me. Feels a bit antisocial though - blocking the road and slowing them down while I approach the roundabout. However, if I were driving the 4x4 and saw the cyclist next to me, and I didn't know which way they were going and knew I needed to potentially cross their path, I reckon I'd have waited before pulling out - especially as it's such a quiet road.

Obviously, I don't want to get caught out again - so all advice welcome - no offence will be taken (within reason!)

Thanks,

MG

Attachments

• roundabout.jpeg
    roundabout.jpeg
    131.3 KB · Views: 217

gaz

Cycle Camera TV
Not your fault IMO. And there isn't much you could do. Drivers are idiots most of the time. And even using the best practise you will be forced to action to avoid a collision.

BSRU

A Human Being