Rubbing disc brakes on a new bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Anorakus

Just after a bit of advice as a newbie to hydraulic disc brakes... the brakes on my new Trek hybrid are making a rubbing noise. The shop says it's normal for disc brakes and I should brake sharply for the first few hundred (!) miles to break them in.. however a couple of weeks later, the rubbing noise persists.

Looking at the brakes, the disc doesn't seem to be quite central between the pads. When I apply the brakes, the disc is squeezed very slightly off to one side.

It doesn't seem to drag on the bike (it's no slouch going down hills), but the other bikes I tested didn't do this. I'm thinking of returning the bike to the shop to ask them to tweak the brakes, but I want to make sure they need adjustment and aren't just bedding in.

A.

HovR

Über Member
Although I have no experience with hydraulic brakes, this sometimes happens with my (cable) disc brakes - In which case I would fix it with minor adjustments of the brake pad positioning, not by waiting for it to bed in.

Although I am not quite sure how you would go about adjusting hydraulic brakes.
wacko.gif

Good luck!

Cyclist33

It's dead easy centering the disc in between the pads. Loosen the two main bolts on the mount, then depress the brake lever fully, then re-tighten the bolts. When you release the lever the disc should be centered.

But make sure the wheel itself is centered or sat properly in the dropouts first.

Stu

Ibbots

Have a look on the Hope website, there's a good video abouy setting up hydraulic disc brakes. Basically you need to ensure that the calipers are in line with the disc as mentioned above, then balance out the calipers so they both operate equally. You might still get some ringing but should not rub or impede the rotation.