Saddle Recommendations

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Zorro

Veteran
I have been riding my specialized Allez 2009 for 6 months now and as I am planning on increasing my milage over the summer I would like some recommendations for a racing saddle that is comfy and costs up to around £100.

The bike came with the Specialized Comp Road saddle which isn't too uncomfy but does start to hurt after 45-60 mins. Before anyone suggests padding... I never ride without it!

I am interested in Selle SMP and Fizik, but would like any suggestions or reviews.

Thanks in advance

yello

Did you get the bike set-up for you? Because it is possible that you can get that Spec saddle more comfortable by tinkering with the position a little. Might save you a few quid.

Saddles, as you will discover from the variety of replies you'll get, are a personal thing. What works for you will not work for someone else, and vice-versa. Some will swear by the Spec toupe, others will loath it. You can end up spending a fortune trying out saddles on the recommendations of others! See if your LBS will let you try a few out, see if you can gauge what sort of saddle shape your backside likes!

OP
OP
Zorro

Zorro

Veteran
yello said:
Did you get the bike set-up for you? Because it is possible that you can get that Spec saddle more comfortable by tinkering with the position a little. Might save you a few quid.

No I didn't get the saddle set up for me, but I have looked at adjusting the saddle and have moved it along the rails to the position it fits me best. I cannot adjust the angle of the saddle though.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
Zorro said:
No I didn't get the saddle set up for me, but I have looked at adjusting the saddle and have moved it along the rails to the position it fits me best. I cannot adjust the angle of the saddle though.

It'd be an unusual seatpost if you couldn't!

Can you post a pic?

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist