Shorts for recumbent riding

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Chonker

Veteran
I'm pretty new to this and have not owned a pair of lycra shorts. I'm resisting the idea a bit still (I think they look a little silly) but travelling feet first makes my regular shorts baloon out as they fill with air, it's uncomfortable and can't be doing much good for my drag coefficient, I also found on a longer run the costant rubbing on my knees of the hem of the legs became quite irritating.

So I've a few questions

So what type of shorts are good and where do you buy them from (not sure about size so thinking of shops rather than online)? I've been into halfords and they had only one type with a whole load of padded foam stuff in the gusset which seems unnecissary for recumbent riding.

Do you wear underwear benieth 'em?

Is there a cross-over available which works like lycra but has the appearance of normal shorts (am thinking perhaps has lycra bands around the leg holes or something)

OP
OP
Chonker

Chonker

Veteran
It's a Trice Q 20" wheels, it's too much fun! :ohmy:

arallsopp

Post of The Year 2009 winner
That foam can be kinda handy, as it stops you getting a rainwater enema on damp descents.

On the Furai, I almost always wear lycra as its a bit of a fairweather bike, and has a fabric seeking chainline.

If you don't get on with a nappy, an alternative can be runners shorts. Got to be careful though. Depending on your seat setup, you might find the zip on the discreet rear pocket they like to add nowadays digs right into your spine.

byegad

Legendary Member
You need shorts that do not flap too much or like me some underpants that hug the legs. Two reasons, one is public decency, the other is a need to avoid a wasp up your leg!

What you DO NOT need is traditional padding, the whole point of a recumbent is that it is comfortable. Running gear is often ideal for 'bent use.

TimP