should i take lessons?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sotonnewb

as a total newbie (been on a bike a total of 1hour so far!), do you reckon lessons are a good idea? I know that the main thing is to get out & practice/build up my confidence. i will be using my bike (when i get it! see my post about hybrid vs mtb :wacko: ) for mainly commuting with a bit of off-road.

intially off-road wil be relatively unchallenging, so other than making a twat of myself i'm not too worried. but the commute (tho only 8 mile round trip) i am nervous about (the traffic, not the distance!).

in addition to just taking the plunge, anyone reckon actual lessons wuold be a good idea? i have read about primay & secondary positioning etc, & my hubbie can give me some tips for sure...

Angelfishsolo

A Velocipedian
Do you drive? If so you should already have the required road knowledge (i.e. what signs and lines etc mean) and I'm not sure what you would gain from lessons. If your road sense / knowledge is lacking then they might be a good idea.

Also though that this http://www.bikeradar.com/fitness/article/technique-road-positioning-197 might be of interest

Very interested to see the general consensus on this.

sotonnewb said:
as a total newbie (been on a bike a total of 1hour so far!), do you reckon lessons are a good idea? I know that the main thing is to get out & practice/build up my confidence. i will be using my bike (when i get it! see my post about hybrid vs mtb ;) ) for mainly commuting with a bit of off-road.

intially off-road wil be relatively unchallenging, so other than making a twat of myself i'm not too worried. but the commute (tho only 8 mile round trip) i am nervous about (the traffic, not the distance!).

in addition to just taking the plunge, anyone reckon actual lessons wuold be a good idea? i have read about primay & secondary positioning etc, & my hubbie can give me some tips for sure...

domtyler

Über Member