tri bars ... thoughts/comments??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bobg

Über Member
Just been sitting here wondering what other ways I could spend money on my bikes then thought of tri bars. ;) I've never used them before neither do I know anybody who does, so any comments would be most welcome. SJS do some cheapo ones via E bay but I'll wait and see way you all think. The majority of my rides are 1/2 days on quiet flat roads mostly 25/35 miles, seemingly into a head wind and I wondered if they might worth a try re increasing average speed and maybe comfort?
Thanks

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member
They give you another hand position which can certainly aid comfort during a long ride, but the will not make you go faster when they are simply bolted onto your existing road bars. Time trialists who gain an advantage from tri-bars will have also lowered their bar position and possibly altered the length of the stem.

Having seen many TTers riding with these things fitted, I am convinced that 50% gain no advantage whatsoever, and many even go slower than they would without them. This is born out by the fact that the average clubman is doing the same sort of times that were being done thirty years ago, all the speed increases have been at the top end.

OP
OP
bobg

bobg

Über Member
Smokin Joe said:
They give you another hand position which can certainly aid comfort during a long ride, but the will not make you go faster when they are simply bolted onto your existing road bars. Time trialists who gain an advantage from tri-bars will have also lowered their bar position and possibly altered the length of the stem.