Warranty claim?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

HF2300

Insanity Prawn Boy
I've just had a message from a colleague about his bike, obtained through the cycle to work scheme. Apparently on his way home the rear wheel came off, damaging the disc and derailleur. The quick release lever is still in the locked position; it sounds as though the nut has come off the skewer.

The bike was collected on Thursday, so he's ridden it home Thursday night, round trip commute on Friday, and into work this morning. His round trip is around 6 miles, so it's probably done around 10 - 12 miles total.

It seems to me that if the bike wasn't assembled correctly or the nut was not sufficiently tight it might conceivably take that long until a catastrophic failure, but I have limited experience with QR skewers, so before we go back to the bike shop tomorrow I'd appreciate any second opinions and thoughts anyone may have.

gavintc

Guru
In my opinion, he might struggle to prove negligence with this one. If the QR skewer was not tightened up, the shop could try to claim that he had loosened it, or some lowlife did it while he was at work. There would be a claim if the skewer has sheered or broken in any way. But, he will to convince a mechanic that he did not do up the skewer properly if it has simply unscrewed from the nut side.

OP
OP
HF2300

HF2300

Insanity Prawn Boy
Unfortunately, we had to consider the possibility that some lowlife loosened it, which is sad in a company of ten people.

I was just trying to consider all the possibilities; I think it's a 'just one of those things', possibley as a result of the skewer nut being slightly loose to start with, who knows?

Anyway, the intention wasn't to shout the odds with the LBS; I think there's little to be gained that way if you can have a sensible discussion and reach a conclusion together. Just wanted to reach an informed conclusion.