Waterproof footwear for cycling

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Up to now, I have used a variety of lightweight training shoes for commuting on the basis that I don't use SPD's or suchlike and thus don't need their functionality. However, the trainers I have at present are not very waterproof, and I'm wondering if there are any decent waterproof cycling shoes out there that people would recommend - and which don't break the bank.

:biggrin:

OP
OP
beanzontoast
Brief, to the point... but to get more marks, elaboration would be useful. :rolleyes:

I have no experience of using overshoes. Are there any that are particularly good (and good value)? Do they take up much room when not in use - can they be carried easily in a pannier?

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
I've got gore ones which are similar material to waterproof coats - rather than the more normal ones. For me, I went down that road as I was wearing them over normal shoes. I don't wear them very often - just when its tipping with rain. Never tried the other sort so I don't know how they compare.

alecstilleyedye

nothing in moderation
i've found overshoes to provide a very useful rain barrier when used in conjunction with front mudguards.

with no mudguards, they become less useful, especially if your commute is more than 5 minutes in duration.

they will keep the mud, crap etc off your shoes too, if that's important.

Sakura

Overshoes I found of limited use. The best I tried were neoprene. They were reasonable at retaining warmth in winter. But innefectual in heavy rain because the rain seeps down your training bottoms and into the shoe.

This is 15/20 years ago. Maybe more effective options are on the market these days.

Neoprene overshoes help me. I used to get so blo0dy annoyed at soggy cycling shoes - or being caught out. The amount of crud that flies onto them is amazing on a commute.