1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Waterproof footwear for cycling

Discussion in 'Bikes and Buying Advice - What Bike?' started by beanzontoast, 27 Apr 2008.

1. beanzontoast

beanzontoast Veteran

Up to now, I have used a variety of lightweight training shoes for commuting on the basis that I don't use SPD's or suchlike and thus don't need their functionality. However, the trainers I have at present are not very waterproof, and I'm wondering if there are any decent waterproof cycling shoes out there that people would recommend - and which don't break the bank.

:biggrin:

2. Mister Paul

Mister Paul Honky

Get some overshoes.

3. beanzontoast

beanzontoast Veteran

Brief, to the point... but to get more marks, elaboration would be useful. :rolleyes:

I have no experience of using overshoes. Are there any that are particularly good (and good value)? Do they take up much room when not in use - can they be carried easily in a pannier?

4. Mister Paul

Mister Paul Honky

Sorry, I was doing three things at once.

Have a look at somewhere like Wiggle. I have some Gill ones which are pretty good. But nothing is completely waterproof.

5. If I'm wearing mtb shoes or normal shoes and its really wet I use waterproof socks (usually on top of my normal socks removing them at the destination) but on the road bike I wear overshoes.

6. beanzontoast

beanzontoast Veteran

Cheers guys - I've been a waterproof sock fan (really must get out more!) for a long time, but I can see the overshoe thing finally getting a try in the near future.

7. summerdays

summerdays Cycling in the sun Staff Member

I've got gore ones which are similar material to waterproof coats - rather than the more normal ones. For me, I went down that road as I was wearing them over normal shoes. I don't wear them very often - just when its tipping with rain. Never tried the other sort so I don't know how they compare.