What Size frame do I need? (road bike)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm looking to buy my first new road bike in years. I'll probably be buying online because the lack of cycle shops around so wont be able to try before buy. ;)

my inside leg is 33 - 34 inches, 84 - 86 cm.
are there any charts online

i've no knowledge of new bikes, mine is old

is a Double or Triple best?
i know all the gear shift takes place with the brakes now. i've noticed a little black 'switch' on some of them. is this quick shift, do i need it?

here is my current bike i bought of a friend for peanuts. its solid but I definitely need an upgrade. out of interest anyone know what year this bike would be? was it a good bike in its day? ;)

ooh and hello all, my first post!

gavintc

Guru
Bike frame sizing as you have identified is more related to leg length than height. Try using this online calculator, it will give you a reasonable feel. Equally, pop into a bike shop and throw your leg over a few bikes. Your leg needs to be extended when you are sitting on the seat and your heel is on the pedal.

http://www.competitivecyclist.com/za/CCY?PAGE=FIT_CALCULATOR_INTRO

The gear option will depend on your fitness. If you are very fit through other sports and are confident at moving into a reasonable standard on a bike, you could consider a standard double (39-53). Most people, need the low gear option provided by either a double compact (34-50) or a triple gear setup. It is very much up to you.

The little button is found on Campag gears throughout the range and the Shimano Sora gears. It is simply a method of moving the gears. You swing the gear/brake lever to move one way and press the little button to go the other way. The higher end Shimano gears (Tiagra upward) use the inner lever behind the brake lever to move in 2 directions. Good luck in your bike choice.

OP
OP
NorthernSky
that calculator looks excellent, i'll give it a try when i get home ;)