What's the point?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SmileyBoots

Über Member
I've been commuting by bike for several years and started a new job in March this year. Firm was in an old victorian bulding and there was lots of little rooms to store the folder and clothes.

However today is the first day in the new purpose built offices. No cycle parking facilities, no showers, no changing area, no spare rooms.

Got changed this morning in the disabled toilet as its the only place big enough and hid the clothes away at the top of the fire-escape stairwell (which nodody would access unless there was a fire)

I've just received an email informing me that I should not use the disabled toilet anymore but must use the normal toilet and that I must pack away my sweaty clothes in a bag. I'm just waiting for the second email objecting to my bike being parked outside in the bin-compound.

Oh, I forgot to mention, I live in Derby, one of the cycling demo towns. I'm really encoraged.

spindrift

A mate pays £50 a month just to use the showers in a gym near his office.

domtyler

Über Member
Doesn't sound like they want to encourage their staff to cycle to work, in fact they are going out of their way to discourage it. Maybe confirm the anti-cycling policy with HR?

Your choices are to:
1) Stay and fight for facilities.
2) Leave and get a new job.
3) Stop cycling and start driving to work.

OP
OP
SmileyBoots

SmileyBoots

Über Member
Thanks Dom,
I've been getting closer to options 2 for a while - not just over the cycling issues but I this has finally made my mind up for me.

gazzaputt

I've just received an email informing me that I should not use the disabled toilet anymore but must use the normal toilet and that I must pack away my sweaty clothes in a bag.

WTF??? Why the hell are they taking that stance?

domtyler

Über Member
SmileyBoots said:
Thanks Dom,