which cleats?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lis

Any recommendations for cleats? I have a road bike I've been cycling for almost 2 years and I also go to spin classes indoors since 3 years and a half ago. Since I already had the cleats I used for spin classes I put the same pedals on my bike (which are I believe for mountain bike). I've been wondering if I should change to a road cycle cleat. any suggestions? I'm confused because some people said I shouldn't change because road cleats gives you less movility and make your feet numb..

Panter

Just call me Chris...
If you change cleats then you'll need to change your pedals too.
Personally, I couldn't get on with road pedals/cleats and went back to the mountain bike type SPD's

"Proper" road cleats are supposed to help prevent the numbing, but I found it made no difference, just far harder to get clipped in and very difficult to walk.
I am in the minority though, most road cyclists seem to get on just fine with them, just giving my experience.

Willo

For what it's worth, I use an SPD (mountain bike) set up on my road bike as do many others. For me, that provides the flexibility for commuting (road style cleats are not recessed making walking difficult), weekend rides and the spin bikes in the gym. Others will be better qualified to answer, but in short road shoes/cleats provide a wider platform and a rigid sole to support the foot and help transfer power.

I compromise by using SPD shoes with a rigid sole akin to a road shoe to support the foot and pedals with a large base (shimano a530s). That works fine for what I want.

martint235

Dog on a bike