Which Tyres for Commute (Road Bike)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

san

Hi All.
Been off for a while, but back for advice.
Been commuting for a year now on a Marin Novato 09.
Great bike, very happy with it, but have just ordered a
Trek 1.9 road bike as I am fitter and want to start pushing my cycling a little further and the Marin can't really do that. I've been using Specialized Armadillo's on the bike for 7 months and only had 2 punctures, both from huge pieces of glass.
Am happy with them, but they don't come in a size narrow enough for a road bike (Unless I am looking in the wrong place)

What I am after is what's recommended out there as a good all year round puncture resistant tyre for road bikes. Because I am still not a racer, the tyres don't need to be slicks, but just safe and durable.

I've looked at a few, marathon plus and panaracer ribmo but these days there are a few to choose from, also, being new to road bikes, I thought I'd ask first.

Thanks a million.
San

Origamist

Legendary Member
If you want excellent puncture protection:

Schwalbe Marathon Plus, 700 x 25/28

Continental Sport Contact, 700 x 28

On my commuter I ride:

Continental 4 Seasons and Michelin Pro Race 3.

colinr

If you want the Schwalbe smartguard thing on a road bike, I'd look at the Durano Plus over the Marathon. They're more like a slick tyre, costly though.

amnezia

Another vote for conti 4 seasons.

they are not stupidly heavy like some of the puncture resistance tires but still offer good protection. I have 23mm and they are fine for london commuting.

OP
OP
S

san

It'll be either the conti 4 seasons or the Schwalbe Durano Plus. They both get rave reviews. Thanks a lot for the advice. I just need to bike now. Cheers

wafflycat

I find that normal Scwalbe Marathons provide excellent p*nct*re resistance on the potholed, mud, grit and sharp flint-strewn roads of Norfolk, town and countryside.

J4CKO