Which way, north or south?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tclay4

Hi
A few of us are planning to do JOGLE next September. All of us are new to cycling and in our forties (yes I know, mid-life crisis!!). We have started training already and are currently doing 40 miles a day. The consensus is to do it North to South as we live in the North of England, pyschologically going South will feel like going downhill and also to get the tough terrain in Scotland out of the way. All valid points but I have become extremely concerned by the wind. I know that the prevailing wind is from the SW and since I started training even the slightest headwind is hard work. I would be extremely interested in other people's experiences. BTW, we are planning to do it in 10 days without a rest day (work commitments) but I am campaigning for one rest day in the middle. Any thoughts?

snorri

Legendary Member
For many people, I'm sure the feelgood factor of going towards home could outweigh the effort of cycling against the prevailing wind, if the wind happens to be blowing from the SW, which is by no means guaranteed.
You mention the tough terrain in Scotland, do not underestimate Cornwall and Devon.;)
Regarding the timing, as newbies to cycling you could find 100mpd for 10 days quite challenging.
Good Luck :smile:

dellzeqq

pre-talced and mighty
I reckon that the loveliest part of the ride is from Inverness up, and it would seem to me to be a bit of a shame to do that first and Devon and Cornwall last.

jarushby

Hi