Who else uses flat pedals?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lulubel

Über Member
And I mean just flat pedals, not toe clips!

After nearly 3 years of "going to go clipless when I have some spare cash for the pedals and shoes," I've finally realised the reason I haven't done it is because I like my flat pedals. It's a good thing because I'm building a new bike, and have spent the last couple of evenings looking at SPD pedals online and trying to decide which ones to buy. After my ride today, I realised there's nothing wrong with flat pedals, I don't ride in the wet and my feet don't slip, I like riding in normal shoes, and I like being able to get a foot down very quickly if I need to.

I wonder if I've been bowing to (imagined) peer pressure and thinking I'm not a proper cyclist if I don't go clipless.

So, who else uses flats all/some of the time? And why?

asterix

Comrade Member
My new town bike, a Trek Soho has flat pedals. I'm reasonably happy with them because they let me cycle in ordinary shoes, however it's quite possible I will put some toeclip pedals on as these will also let me cycle in ordinary shoes and I have a pair sitting around.

I wouldn't want to use anything but clipless on my distance bikes as I like hilly regions and these pedals make a big difference.

Bluenite

I like flat pedals as well, my feet don't slip off them, i can wear any trainer i want and i can put my feet down with out thinking about clipping in or out.
I have a hybrid and a road bike and both have flats i'm happy with them and as long as i'm happy that's all that matters.

PS and they last a life time unlike STD's.

I like flat pedals as well, my feet don't slip off them, i can wear any trainer i want and i can put my feet down with out thinking about clipping in or out.
I have a hybrid and a road bike and both have flats i'm happy with them and as long as i'm happy that's all that matters.

PS and they last a life time unlike STD's.