Winning is the only thing that matters in Professional Sport - discuss.

Discussion in 'News and Current Affairs' started by Beebo, 15 Aug 2019 at 16:57.

  1. Beebo

    Beebo Firm and Fruity

    Location:
    Hexleybeef
    these two women have been disqualified from an olympic test event for holding hands and crossing the line together.

    It could cost them a place on the British Olympic team, as the woman who came 5th was also british and was promoted to 3rd place.

    The rules seem clear but is winning now all that matters?

    https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/triathlon/49355267
     
  2. Slick

    Slick Veteran

    I think winning has always been all that mattered in most sports but this decision takes the nip.
     
    captain nemo1701 likes this.
  3. classic33

    classic33 Legendary Member

    They broke the rules. In any competition, doing so would be enough to be disqualified.
     
    Smokin Joe likes this.
  4. Cycleops

    Cycleops Guru

    Location:
    Accra, Ghana
    Hardly a thrilling finish was it? It's meant to be a competition.
     
    Smokin Joe likes this.
  5. Dave7

    Dave7 Guru

    Location:
    Cheshire
    What am I missing?? The rule (as I read it) says an athlete must not assist another athlete at any stage in a race. How is holding hands 'assisting'?
     
  6. DaveReading

    DaveReading Veteran

    Wasn't it Martina Navratilova who declared: "Whoever said 'It's not whether you win or lose that counts' probably lost" ?
     
  7. classic33

    classic33 Legendary Member

    Contrived finish.
    "athletes who finish in a contrived tie situation, where no effort to separate their finish times has been made, will be disqualified".
     
    Dave7 likes this.
  8. rich p

    rich p ridiculous old lush

    Location:
    Brighton
    Shows a lack of ambition that they didn't race each other to the finish. It's not a parkrun is it.
    Having said that, they should still be selected.
     
    classic33 likes this.
  9. rich p

    rich p ridiculous old lush

    Location:
    Brighton
    I misread the title and thought the thread was referring to discus.
     
  10. Slick

    Slick Veteran

    Did the Brownlee boys not do the same once?
     
    deptfordmarmoset likes this.
  11. classic33

    classic33 Legendary Member

    One pushing the other?
    Mentioned at the bottom of the piece.
     
    Slick likes this.
  12. Dave7

    Dave7 Guru

    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ahhh didnt see that.... thanks.
    But if that is a clear rule they must be a bit thick to do it.
     
  13. Yes the Brownlees did it and the rule was not in place then. After the Brownlees incident the new rule was implemented. It is not a rule about assisting. It is a rule about competing right to the end. Its clear that these ladies didnt do that. Yes. In these circumstances it a crap rule.

    This does not stop the selectors from selecting them and hopefully they will.
     
  14. Hitchington

    Hitchington Lovely stuff

    Location:
    That London
    I wish someone could have told my team about "winning being the only thing that matters" at the weekend. Losing 3-0. First game of the season. At home. To Brighton. FFS
     
    SpokeyDokey, theclaud and classic33 like this.
  15. stephec

    stephec Legendary Member

    Location:
    Bolton
    It depends if there's a tasty bonus from your sponsor for finishing first or not.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice