Winter Bicycles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hydra

Occasional Pepper Carver
Yeah, I know, the sun's shining and the temperature is rising... so I guess talking about SNOW and COLD is at the back of your minds right now. However, I think it's the perfect time to get thinking about a winter bike!

This last winter I had to take far too much time off the bike than I was happy with, due to the snow. This year I want to be prepared, with a bike that looks at snow and simply shrugs!

The obvious choice I guess would be a mountain bike with chunky tyres. If I went down this route I'd likely choose the second hand e-bay option, simply because it would only get used (abused) for the winter and that's it.

My real choices lie somewhere between a proper touring bike (something cheap and cheerful like the Country Traveller) and a cyclo-cross type bike, the latter of which I have no knowledge about.

A tourer would fulfill my desire to eventually do a wee tour and long-distance travelly-type jobbies and would get used all year round for shopping jobs et cetera. I'd imagine the heavier weight and wider tyres will handle snow well.

And then there's a cyclo-cross bike. Like I mentioned above I don't know anything about these bikes. My assumption would be that they're perfectly capable of snow riding, but I could be wrong. If I went down this route though the possibility of touring/long-distance goes out the window...

There's plenty of time to think about this, and plenty of time to save, but it's better to get the (snow)ball rolling early!

So I'll open the floor to your comments. What suggestions/advice can you offer? What bikes do you all use during the worst of the winter (if at all)? Etc etc

monkeypony

Marathon winter tyres on the cross bike.