Yet another bike advice needed thread

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Debian

I'm not a beginner to cycling but until fairly recently I didn't commute by bike. Almost all of my riding was mountain / XC stuff and as a consequence all of my bikes are MTB types.

Now I use my older MTB for commuting, it has panniers and still has the knobbly tyres and I've been considering putting slicks on it to make life a little easier.

I'm quite happy with the current bike, however, I've been thinking that maybe a dedicated road commuting bike might be the better option and I'm looking for suggestions as to which bike. My commute is about 7 miles each way and flattish, all of it is well surfaced and mainly tarmac. I'll be using panniers carrying up to ten kilos of laptop and other gear.

The bike would be used for nothing else but the commute apart from maybe the odd shopping trip.

I have no experience of anything other than MTBs and I want to spend as little as possible, absolute maximum of £400 and preferably less.

Any suggestions?

scott s10

sorry but i have to say try looking through the other million threads on new bikes

OP
OP
Debian

Debian

scott s10 said:
sorry but i have to say try looking through the other million threads on new bikes

You're welcome to say that.

However I wish to have my own thread; anyone who wishes to contribute then that's great. If anyone doesn't want to contribute then don't, it's fine.

Norm

I'd try changing the tyres on your current steed. I found it made me about 15% faster on a 10 mile route, it's created a great "fun" bike that is also useful for shopping and, because of its age and skankiness, I have few concerns leaving it in town. Best of all, it was only £20-odd to try it.

OP
OP
Debian

Debian

Norm said: