Alu or carbon I am just a beginner

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Robbieinnes

Looking to buy my first road bike and I am really struggling do I bite the bullet and buy carbon fibre or go alu frame with good components for eg. Focus culebro 2.0 or the focus cayo evo 4.0?

raleighnut

Legendary Member
:welcome:

Big Nick

Personally I'd get the carbon frame as you can upgrade components as and when they wear out

Can't help you with those bikes though

I would say that most newbies, if they get into cycling, would want n+1 rather than upgrading the existing bike. Therefore, I would go for a good alu frame with the best components you can afford, then in a year or two you can decide if you want a carbon n+1. The old bike then becomes the winter bike.

zacklaws

Guru
I would say that most newbies, if they get into cycling, would want n+1 rather than upgrading the existing bike. Therefore, I would go for a good alu frame with the best components you can afford, then in a year or two you can decide if you want a carbon n+1. The old bike then becomes the winter bike.

Exactly the answer I was going to give till I finally read this final post in the thread, the only addition to advice I would give would be don't buy a bike outside your means to keep it maintained to the standard it was bought, ie parts wear out or damaged in crashes etc and to replace them can be costly and even more so if you ride a lot.

Any fool can buy a cheap clapped out ferrari........but when it breaks down.......it would be costly to repair

Torvi

mr poopmechanic
I think alu for us beginners is good engouh, alu bikes are strudy and bit heavier than carbon but once you get ur stamina in working on heavy bike, then after a year when you get into carbon one you will see much more difference than going carbon since start :smile:

Buy the bike that fits you best, it's that simple.