any advice on cuda mayhem 20" boys?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bee_reay

Hi everyone ^_^

I'm new to this site and hoping someone will be able to help. I'm getting DS a new bike for Xmas and after lots of research I'm between a ridgeback rx20 or a cuda mayhem. (budget less than £200, ideally nearer £150) Two years ago he got a silver ridgeback mx16 for Xmas and it was great so i know the ridgeback would be a good option but it only comes in grey or silver and i'm reluctant to get him essentially the same bike. Santa wouldn't do that i don't think.

I'm really not an expert but to me the cuda mayhem looks like a good bike. I can't see much difference between it and the ridgeback. Can anyone tell me if it is good or just a bike shaped object?

Did a quick forum search and notice another member got one for his daughter but i can't do pms yet.

thanks x

Roadrider48

Voice of the people

The Cuda looks like it's got stamped drop outs and cheaper components. I know the Ridgeback bikes and would tend towards them as a decent brand.

I know you said your budget but if you went for something like an Isla bike, much better at that age, when he grows out of it, you will nearly get your money back so strong is the 2nd hand market. You can check that yourself on ebay. Buying any other make, like Ridgeback, you will lose most of your money on re-sale, if it lasts. Isla is unique in this respect. Just a thought.

OP
OP
B

bee_reay

What are stamped drop outs?