Building a clunker for commuting: drop bars or straight?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm building a 'clunker' bike for commuting to college in Stuttgart, Germany, because although I have been riding a lovely Raleigh/Xtracycle conversion for about 16 years, I don't want to leave it attached to a railing all day in central Stuttgart.

I have an old, no-name mountain bike with 21 speeds that works reasonably well for most things but the route will involve a down hill section of 12-14% for just under a mile on a narrow residential road with a tram line running along it. At the moment I'm running the 'clunker' with V-brakes and Canti levers, but they are a bit too soggy for this section, especially on early mornings with sleepy drivers, so it needs a bit of work.

Question 1:
I know the simplest solution is to swap the canti levers for V-brake levers: I've done that for my main bike, but that involves swapping shifters, which isn't easy on a 21 speed bike any more because I can't get the rest of the parts. How would you go about a minimal conversion, just to give me the better braking?

Question 2:
Part of me rebels at the idea of having a 'clunker' to ride every day, and in Stuttgart, bikes are less likely to be stolen than other places. Besides, my bike will be next to much smarter bikes, so as long as I lock it well, the only thing I need to ensure is that my bike is unusual/home made enough to make it hard to resell.

I've long wanted to have a classic styled touring bike with drop handlebars, but as I am about the size and shape of Frodo the Hobbit, a 700cc bike is too big. On the other hand, putting drops on a mountain bike frame could give me an unusual bike (drops are rare in this part of Germany except on lightweight racing bikes) thus making it less stealable, and also give me the classic-looking bike I've wanted since I was a teenager.